365 Days: Breaking the law

Think about the last time you broke a rule (a big one, not just ripping the tags off your pillows). Were you burned, or did things turn out for the best?

回想一下,上次你破壞一個規矩(很嚴重的那種,而不是無所謂的小事)是什麼時候?你因此而受傷了嗎?還是事情反而變得更好?

 

It’s not so easy to define a rule for me. Because I like to follow the rules in my mind. They are set up according to some important values I believe and complied to the law. If I have to mention one, not choosing to be a medical technologist or not doing the biology research is probably the thing breaking some social rules in Taiwan. As a bachelor and a master of medical science, but I didn’t keep doing anything related what I had learned at school. It’s just not OK for most Taiwanese including my parents. I leave the route of normal life a little bit too far away for them. Therefore, even since I left science for about two year, we still fight about this issue sometimes.

For me, it’s a bit too early to say that it’s good to do so or not. At least I do not feel regret so far. As an art administrator, there are still so many knowledges waiting for me. If someday someone says to me that “how great that you didn’t choose to be a medical technologist, you are born for being an art administrator.” Then part of my dream will be accomplished.

 

我想,要認真的訂義一個規矩或者規則對我來說不是那麼容易的;因為我喜歡按著自己的經驗和價值觀來為自己訂下做事以及人生的準則,不過,當然是在不違法的前提之下。如果真要說曾經破壞過些什麼規矩的話,那麼身為一個醫檢系學生並且出國拿了個生物碩士回來,卻不從事任何相關的工作這點,大概某程度上和臺灣社會中的某些觀念或者潛規則強碰了吧!對我爸媽來說,沒有安穩的走上預期中要走的道路,大概更是意料之外。

而現在對我來說做這樣的選擇究竟是好是壞,也還很難有些什麼定論,畢竟也才剛剛踏上這未知的旅程快兩年而已;但,至少目前為止,我並未後悔,也勉勵自己要更努力才行。最近這一年,隱隱約約中希望自己能成為一個好的藝術行政,這兩個月剛剛開始起步的我,還有很多很多需要學習之處。深深的希望有一天,能有人對我說,「還好當初妳沒有選擇成為醫檢師,妳真的天生就是個藝術行政的料。」那或許,在心底深處某部份的夢就完成了吧。

Leave a Reply

